NAUSET LIGHT was constructed in 1877 and originally one of two lights in Chatham. It was moved to Eastham in 1923 to replace the Three Sisters of Nauset, three small wood lighthouses that had been decommissioned. They have since been relocated to a small field about 1,000 feet west of the Light. Nauset Light was originally all white, but in the 1940s was painted with the red section at the top, creating the iconic appearance of the lighthouse. In 1996 the light (and the oil house) were relocated 300 feet inland to prevent their destruction from sea erosion. Two years later, the 1875 keeper’s house was also moved. The light is owned by the National Park Service, but is leased to and maintained by the Nauset Light Preservation Society. Maintenance and upkeep for the Light is entirely funded by donations. The light (but not the privately owned keeper’s house) is open to visitors.
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places.