The Eastham Historical Society maintains museums at the 1741 Swift-Daley complex located at 2375 State Highway in Eastham and at the 1869 Schoolhouse Museum, located at 25 Schoolhouse Road. In addition, we operate the Ranlett Tool Museum and Dill Beach Camp.
Our Museums are currently closed for the 2022 season - see you again in July 2023!
The Archives of the Society
The Eastham Historical Society manages archives detailing Eastham history, church history and local family history including generalogy. We are a member of the Digital Commonwealth, with which two collections from our Archives are shared.
1869 Schoolhouse Museum
Built in 1869, the Schoolhouse served Eastham students in all eight grades. The schoolroom, now a children’s “hands on” museum complete with its original schoolmaster’s desk, is furnished to replicate how it looked in earlier days.
1741 Swift-Daley House
Built in 1741 by Joshua Knowles, its bowed roof is typical of early houses built by ship’s carpenters. The wide board floors, deep fireplace in the keeping room and narrow stairway are other features of 18th century houses.
Ranlett Tool Museum
The Chester Ranlett Tool Museum - located behind the 1741 Swift-Daley House. On display are hundreds of tools, many of them unusual and unique to this area. A forge on the premises operates at the whim of the blacksmith
Dill Beach Camp
The A. Thomas Dill Beach Camp is on the same site as the 1741 Swift-Daley House. The Camp survived the 1978 storm that ravaged the spit south of the Coast Guard Station. Built in 1936, it is furnished as it was when used as a hunting and fishing camp.
The Olde Gift Shop
Set behind the 1741 Swift-Daley House, the Olde Gift Shop is filled with fascinating treasures from antiques to hand-crafted items from local artisans. New Treasurers arrive all the time